Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

Symphony - Der Bote

for mezzo soprano and orchestra

Year:  1992   ·  Duration:  30m
Instrumentation:  2222 (bcl); 4331; timp., perc.

Year:  1992
Duration:  30m
Instrumentation  2222 (bcl); 4331; timp., perc.

Composer:   Andrew Perkins

Films, Audio & Samples

Andrew Perkins: Der Bote; a...

Embedded audio
See details ➔


To borrow or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at Please note that only library members in New Zealand and Australia can borrow or hire parts.


Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra

Contents note

Four movements: The movements should be continuous. A: orchestral movement depicting the psychological tenor of the German poem (Andante); B: Voice and orchestra – first three stanzas of poem depicting the vision; C: Descent to Hell (Adagio) and D: reconciliation, verse 7 (Adagio).

Text note

Text by Andrew Perkins

Performance history

09 Jul 1992: Performed by the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, conducted by William Bougton at the Aotea Centre