Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

four abstracts

for mixed chamber quintet

Year:  2009   ·  Duration:  11m
Instrumentation:  for horn, flute, clarinet in B flat, viola, cello

Year:  2009
Duration:  11m
Instrumentation  for horn, flute, clarinet i...

Alex Taylor

Composer:   Alex Taylor

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Page 1 - 2

See details ➔


To borrow or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at Please note that only library members in New Zealand and Australia can borrow or hire parts.


The four abstracts of the title represent a kind of conceptual continuum between emotional states – Solitude, Intimacy, Distrust and Panic. Gradually developing in momentum and intensity, the movements flick between different angles and stages of human relationships, subverting expectations in building a fragile structure of unease and compulsion.

Contents note

1. Solitude
2. Intimacy
3. Distrust
4. Panic

Performance history

19 Sep 2009: Spring Music Box

20 Sep 2009: Emerging Artists

27 Jun 2010: RNZ Concert broadcast Alex Taylor
Featuring: Radio New Zealand Concert

06 Jul 2010: Contemporary Visions 27