Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

Oboe Sonata

for oboe and piano

Year:  2002   ·  Duration:  17m

Year:  2002
Duration:  17m

Composer:   Anthony Ritchie

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Page 1 - 8

See details ➔


To borrow or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at Please note that only library members in New Zealand and Australia can borrow or hire parts.


This work was originally for soprano saxophone and orchestra written in 1996, and was re-arranged for oboe and piano in 2002.

The first movement was inspired by cartoon characters and has a quirky quality. The middle slow movement is soulful and lyrical. The third movement begins sternly before morphing into a wistful waltz, which in turn changes into a fast, lively tempo.

Contents note

I. allegro vivace; II. adagio; III. maestoso-mesto-allegro

Performance history

07 Mar 2010: Paris Oboe Festival 2010

24 Sep 2010: Oboe & Piano in NYC