Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
February 9, 2010 7:30PM

Arctic Dreams


This concert is part of the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra's Breaking New Ground New Music Festival.

The WSO 'Winds and Brass' joins the University of Manitoba Wind Ensemble and the Winnipeg Winds in this concert event featuring works by the festival's two distinguished guest composers Steven Stucky (USA) and John Psathas.

The programme begins with John's Saxon for Brass Band followed by Steven Stucky's Concerto for Percussion and Winds and Threnos. The concert also features Canadian composers Sophie Carmen Eckhardt-Gramatté's Fanfare and Michael Colgrass' Arctic Dreams, a celebrated tone poem nspired by his experiences living above the Arctic Circle with an Inuit family.

The concert is preceded by a composer's discussion (6:30) and performance (7:00).

Start time

February 9, 2010 7:30PM


Centennial Concert Hall, Winnipeg