Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
May 26, 2011 6:30PM • Hunter Council Chamber

Pangea Piano Project - NZSM


Variations on a Prayer (2010) by Kenneth Young
Three Rhythmics (1987) by Jack Body
Suite No. 2 - Four Dances from Electra (1988) by Edwin Carr
Zeal (1992) by John Psathas

Te Kōkī, the New Zealand School of Music presents the 2011 Hunter Series, a series of Thursday evening concerts featuring music making of the very highest calibre.

In May, New Zealand Music Month, the Pangea Piano Project (Ya-Ting Liou and Blas González) present a concert of all-NZ music for solo, duet and duo pianos.

Taiwanese pianist Ya-Ting Liou and Argentinian Blas González are the Pangea Piano Project. The goal of the Pangea Piano Project is to combine standard piano music with less conventional repertoire for solo, duet and duo.

“Considering the vast musical literature that has been written for the piano,” says Blas, “at times one feels tempted to think that no new surprises can come from works written for this instrument. This programme though, proves that much room for innovation can come from compositions written for piano four-hands or two pianos. It also proves that the panorama of New Zealand’s classical music is nowadays wide and varied.”

The Hunter Concert Series are concerts in which the NZSM presents their performance staff/friends in professional concerts of superb music. The other concerts in this series for 2011 are on June 23, July 21, August 18, September 15, October 20 and November 24.

Start time

May 26, 2011 6:30PM


Hunter Council Chamber


Tickets can be purchased online through "Eventfinder":
Adult: $15.00
Couple: $20.00
Concession: $10.00