Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
September 30, 2022 7:30PM • Auckland Town Hall

NZSO | Legacy (Auckland)


Alexander Shelley | Conductor
Gabriela Montero | Piano

Gillian Whitehead | retrieving the fragility of peace
Mozart | Piano Concerto No. 20
Brahms | Symphony No.1

The NZSO open a weekend of concerts with retrieving the fragility of peace, a new work by Dunedin composer Dame Gillian Whitehead. Pianist Gabriela Montero brings her considerable gifts to Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 20, a darkly toned jewel in the piano repertoire.

Brahms laboured over his First Symphony for 14 years, hampered by his painful awareness of constantly hearing “the giant [Beethoven] marching behind you!” But despite comparisons to his musical forebear, the Finale’s alphorn melody and the symphony’s complex rhythms marks his First as quintessential Brahms, all the way.

Start time

September 30, 2022 7:30PM


Auckland Town Hall