Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Douglas Lilburn: Crotchety at 51 - hardcopy SCORE

Hardcopy typeset

Full score Publication year: 2004

Buy Borrow


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Sample Score

Sample: Page 1 of 'Crotchety at 51'


The title of this collection, Crotchety at 51, comes from an annotation by the composer on a folder of sixteen piano pieces composed over 1961-66, nine of which were published in 1969 as Nine Short Pieces. All the pieces in the present collection have never been published before, and are gathered from several folders in the Lilburn Collection at the Alexander Turnbull Library. While some were written for particular people or occasions, the majority were for the sole purpose of developing and refining the composer's musical language.

Piece '81 appears to be Lilburn's last completed composition.

Series title

Waiteata Music Press 2004 no. 8


Publisher note

Waiteata Music Press