Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Orange Resource

Tahu - CD


Tahu - CD

Audio/visual Publication year: 2008

Buy Borrow


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The album skilfully layers the haunting and almost melancholic tones of taonga pūoro with the light and joyful notes of the classical guitar - taking the listener on a journey through the ancient aural landscape of Aotearoa.

The group's unique blend of improvisation and composition also features contemporary and traditional Maori patere (chants), waiata (songs), and karakia (prayers), which flow seamlessly over the music.

The Wellington-based trio consist of taonga pūoro practitioners Henare Walmsley and Alistair Fraser, and classical guitarist and composer Michael Hogan.

Track listing:

  1. Whakataka te Hau
  2. First Dawn
  3. Tohu O Te Arawa
  4. Mataa
  5. Passacaglia
  6. E Tama
  7. Interlude
  8. Te Ku
  9. Hikoi Ki Te Pakanga
  10. Hue Nui Me Iti
  11. Harakeke
  12. Waita
  13. E To Matou Matua