Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

Symphony No. 1

for turntables and orchestra

Year:  2004   ·  Duration:  16m
Instrumentation:  picc.22ca2bcl2cbsn; 4331; timp., perc. (bass drum, 5 roto-toms, tam-tam, 3 toms, tri., sus. cymbal, tub. bells, glock., snare, woodblock); strings; turntables and small PA

Year:  2004
Duration:  16m
Instrumentation  picc.22ca2bcl2cbsn; 4331; t...

Composer:   Jeremy Mayall

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: First two pages of each movement

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


A three-movement symphony for orchestra and turntables... a hip-hop symphony

Contents note

Three movements: In the Beginning; Music to Make; The Saga Continues

Performance history

28 Oct 2004: Read by Auckland Philharmonia, with Jeremy Mayall on turntables, Philharmonia Hall, Auckland, 28 October 2004 (1st movement only)

16 Feb 2005: Performed in a rehearsed reading by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra conducted by Hamish McKeich as part of the NZSO-SOUNZ Readings

16 May 2005: Premiered by Wellington Youth Orchestra, conducted by Owen Clarke at the Michael Fowler Centre, Wellington