Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Symphony No.1: the mountains ponder a silence as profound as stars

for orchestra

Year:  2002   ·  Duration:  34m
Instrumentation:  3*2*3*2; 4331; timpani; 3 percussion; harp; piano; strings

Year:  2002
Duration:  34m
Instrumentation  3*2*3*2; 4331; timpani; 3 p...

Composer:   Michael Norris

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Audio

Sample: 0:00-1:00 of first movement

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Southern Sinfonia, written during Composer-in-residence scheme with funding provided by Creative New Zealand.

Contents note

5 movements: I, II, III, IV, V

Performance history

15 Jun 2002: Performed by Southern Sinfonia cond. Marc Taddei; Dunedin Town Hall

Performed by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra