Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for string quartet

Year:  2005   ·  Duration:  3m

Year:  2005
Duration:  3m


This brief elegy was written a few months after the Indian Ocean tsunami of December 2004, in which so many lost their lives. Over the gently rocking figures of the viola and cello are heard the more impassioned lines of the violins; these seem to chase after one another before the piece comes to a quiet close. Composed for the Auckland Philharmonia Ensemble Philharmonia concerts, where it received its first performance in November 2006.

Commissioned note

Written for Sarah Hart and her string quartet, for the 'Ensemble Philharmonia' concerts in Auckland, 2005.

Performance history

18 Nov 2006: Performed by Ensemble Philharmonia Series; Auckland Central Library