Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


String Quartet: In Memoriam - Matyas Seiber

for string quartet

Year:  2004   ·  Duration:  14m
Instrumentation:  violin 1, violin 2, viola and cello

Year:  2004
Duration:  14m
Instrumentation  violin 1, violin 2, viola a...

Composer:   Vivienne Sands

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1-2, 12-15, 25-26

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


A four movement string quartet based on a 12-note row. The work was composed as a tribute to the late Matyas Seiber, using many of that composer's contrapuntal techniques.

Contents note

I. Fugue and variations
II. Scherzando
III. Distante e sostenuto
IV. Veloce e con urenza

Performance history

20 Nov 2004: Performed by the Aroha String Quartet at St. Patrick's Church, Taupo

Performed by Haihong Liu, Beiyi Xue, Zhongxian Jin, and Jiaxin Cheng