Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for mixed sextet

Year:  2007 Instrumentation:  flute, clarinet, vibraphone, piano, violin and cello

Year:  2007
Instrumentation  flute, clarinet, vibraphone...

Composer:   Michael Norris

Films, Audio & Samples

Michael Norris: tesserae......

Embedded audio
See details ➔

Upbeat interview with Micha...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: pages 1-2

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The technique of “mosaic” is the construction of an image from numerous small tiles. These tiles, called “tesserae”, are separated by the “interstices” (the spaces between the tiles, usually filled with grout). In this piece—an homage to Luciano Berio—tiny fragments are taken from his Sequenza IX for clarinet to form the tesserae of the clarinet part. But they appear in a completely reordered and recontextualised sequence. At the same time, the other instruments resonate, echo and sustain the clarinet, in a manner similar to Berio’s Chemins series. Eventually the interstices enlarge and swallow up the tesserae. Timbral and harmonic distortions merge the two layers, until they decay into sonic abstraction. This piece was written for the Acanthes Festival 2007, and was premiered by members of the Luxembourg Philharmonic Orchestra.

Commissioned note

Written for the Acanthes Festival 2007

Performance history

20 Jul 2007: Performed by members of the Luxembourg Philharmonic at the Luxembourg Philharmonic Hall, in Luxembourg

28 Apr 2008: Performed by Éclat as part of the ACL-Korea International Conference and Festival, Seoul, Korea

08 Nov 2008: Performed by the Israel Contemporary Players at Tel Aviv Museum

09 Nov 2008: Performed by the Israel Contemporary Players, Jerusalem New Music Centre

17 May 2009: Stroma Dreams

+ Read More