Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

Three Pieces from ‘Ecstasy Suite’

for oboe, clarinet, violin, viola and double bass

Year:  2009

Year:  2009

Composer:   Jonathan Besser


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Ecstasy was composed by Jonathan Besser to celebrate the 800th birthday of the Sufi master and mystical poet, Jalal al-Din Rumi. Exploring Rumi's love ethic, the suite that celebrate the lover’s journey towards the Beloved, evoking the longing, joy, sorrow, struggle and ecstasy of anyone who seeks – and finds – love.

Performance history

07 Mar 2010: Conducted by Nigel Keay and performed by Marika Lombardi (oboe), Erika Bliznik (clarinet), Charmian Keay (violin), Joe Ichinose (viola) and Raphaël Schwab (double bass) at NZ Embassy in Paris, France.