Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Cloud Fanfares

for orchestra

Year:  1990   ·  Duration:  4m
Instrumentation:  2*222; 4231; timp., 3 perc.; harp; strings | (Perc: bs.dr, glock., xylo., sn.dr, bongos, tri., claves, toms, maracas, susp. cym)

Year:  1990
Duration:  4m
Instrumentation  2*222; 4231; timp., 3 perc....

John Rimmer

Composer:   John Rimmer

Films, Audio & Samples

John Rimmer: Cloud Fanfares...

Embedded audio
See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Cloud Fanfares is one of ten fanfares for orchestra commissioned in 1990 by the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra to celebrate its tenth anniversary.

This celebration coincided also with the 150th anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi and the opening of the Aotea Centre in Auckland. More specifically Cloud Fanfares is a musical symbol of discovery. To the explorers of the Pacific Ocean, clouds were a confirmation that land was near. These 'Cloud' Fanfares thus celebrate the discovery of Pacific islands and in particular Aotearoa-New Zealand.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra

Performance history

29 Mar 1990: Performed by the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, conducted by John Hopkins at the ASB Theatre, Aotea Centre, in Auckland.