Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

Subtle Dances

for violin, cello and piano

Year:  2013

Year:  2013

Composer:   Claire Cowan

Films, Audio & Samples

Claire Cowan: Appointment i...

Embedded audio
See details ➔

Claire Cowan: Subtle Dances...

Embedded video
See details ➔

Claire Cowan: Subtle Dances...

Embedded audio
See details ➔

Upbeat interview with Justi...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Audio

Sample: 0'00"-0'59"

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Subtle Dances is a set of three short moods for piano trio. In writing, I have tried to approach the works as intuitively as possible. For me this creates the greatest connection between me as a composer, the performers, and the audience listening. Each work features one instrument more prominently – firstly cello, then piano, then violin. The music explores my continued fascination with the space created within the music, in which a listener can engage. Both hypnotic and meditative, the pieces present themselves as a contrasting set of interior landscapes. They are: passing thoughts, memories, unsolvable problems, and explorations of headspace.

Firstly – it begins with a dance; a rhythmical and passionate interlocking of playful lines, but not without an element of danger or risk.
Secondly – an elegy, the body in its slowest state.
Thirdly – a struggle, an unanswered question, a cycle – and ultimately, a transition; a bursting through, into a new light.

Commissioned note

Co-commission CMNZ/NZTrio

Contents note

Three movements:

i. Subtle dances
ii. Be slow and lie low
iii. Nerve lines