Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Te Ngahere

for two oboes and bassoon

Year:  2018   ·  Duration:  7m 30s

Year:  2018
Duration:  7m 30s

Jayan Bhikha

Composer:   Jayan Bhikha

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11 and 12 of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Te Ngahere (The Forest) is a small collection of New Zealand birdsongs where each of them is made into a miniature. Te Ngahere features a prelude, which portrays a forest and three tuneful birdsongs.

The Prelude: Bird Landscape describes the setting of the birds' habitat. It creates an abstract of the rise and fall of light deep within the forest. The Kokako has a distinct birdsong that can be heard at the beginning of the piece. The Kokako’s distress call is heard in the middle of the piece. The Miromiro (Tomtit) is an agile and petite bird. The birdsong is fluttery and is portrayed with trills and quick rhythms. It is also the shortest piece of the collection due to the bird’s size. The Korimako (Bellbird) is also a short and lively bird, whose birdsong is usually heard in chorus. The two oboes and bassoon are played in similar motion and repeat after each other to portray the birds in the chorus.

Contents note

  1. Prelude: Bird Landscape
  2. Kokako
  3. Miromiro (Tomtit)
  4. Korimako (Bellbird)