Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Air and Gigue

for solo viola

Year:  2018   ·  Duration:  6m 40s

Year:  2018
Duration:  6m 40s

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: First five systems of 'Air'; first page of 'Gigue'

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Air and Gigue for solo viola consists of two contrasting pieces. The first, 'Air', marked Andante consists of a simple melody often presented with an accompanying harmony through the use of double stops. The second, an extended 'Gigue' in 12/8 time marked 'Lively' is in A-B-A-C-A-coda form. The A sections are in the mixolydian mode on G, while the B and C sections offer a contrast to this, the focus here being on motivic development while moving through different tonal centres.

'Air' is identical to the fourth movement, Viola Alone, of Sonatine for a solo violist and three hand-held percussionists written for the Portable Concerto Project in Kobe, Japan and was composed on the 31st of December 2011 in Shah Alam, Malaysia. 'Gigue' was completed on September 11th 2018 in Xinzheng, Henan province, China.

This score is also available from