Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for orchestra

Year:  2020   ·  Duration:  7m
Instrumentation:  2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in Bb, 2 Bassoons, 4 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in Bb, 2 Tenor Trombones, 1 Bass Trombone, 1 Tuba, Timpani (standard set), Tam-tam, Glockenspiel, Tubular Bells, Vibraphone (soft mallets and double bass bow required), 1 harp, strings

Year:  2020
Duration:  7m
Instrumentation  2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarin...

Composer:   Anya Keggenhoff

Films, Audio & Samples

Anya Keggenhoff: Emperor — ...

Internal audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: first four pages of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Emperor is an episodic piece, written to narrate the year in the life of emperor penguins in Antarctica.

The first section, 'Ice Shelf', aims to describe the openness; coldness; and grandness of the Antarctic continent, before focusing on the flightless denizens, the emperor penguins, in the next section, 'Colony'. This section is lighter, more humorous, and aims to show the busyness and awkwardness of the penguin colony, before turning much darker as the sun disappears, and 'Winter' comes.

'Winter' is dark, desolate, and desperate; the penguins must huddle together for warmth until the sun finally breaks over the horizon after months of absence. Their new chicks hatch in this springtime, and the next section, 'Fledglings' begins.

Finally, the maturing chicks leave their nests and make it to the ocean, ready to fish and to breed, until they return to the colony once again, and the cycle starts over.

Contents note

Four sections: 'Ice Shelf', 'Colony', 'Winter', and 'Fledglings'