Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

Gracious numbers decayed

for oboe, clarinet and bassoon

Year:  2013   ·  Duration:  10m

Year:  2013
Duration:  10m

Composer:   Philip Brownlee

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: pages 1 - 2

See details ➔


To borrow or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at Please note that only library members in New Zealand and Australia can borrow or hire parts.


The materials of this piece are deceptively simple. In the absence of demonstrative gesture, a space is made to hear the sounds for themselves: the interaction between the overtones of the different instruments, the timbral effects of register, and the subtleties of shaping each sound event. This reduction of musical language creates a contemplative space, encouraging us to hear relationships between initially disconnected sounds, which seem to grow out of the environment in which they are heard.