Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
April 7, 2011 7:00PM • Auckland Town Hall

Brave New World - APO


Two premieres feature in this exciting concert: NZ composer Ross Harris unveils his Fourth Symphony, and Brett Dean’s award-winning concerto The Lost Art of Letter Writing has its first New Zealand performance.

Brett Dean conducts this concert with young Australian violinist Kristian Winther as soloist for his violin concerto which won the prestigious Grawemeyer Award in 2009.

Ross and singer/songwriter Mahinarangi Tocker, who died in 2008, were friends who communicated regularly by email; each of the five linked movements ion his Symphony No.4, is not only inspired by poetry Mahinarangi sent to Ross as part of their correspondence but also begins with a fragment of Mahinarangi’s music. This promises to be a rich and moving tribute to one of New Zealand’s premier Maori musicians, as well as an opportunity to hear a major work from one of New Zealand’s foremost contemporary composers.

“This will be one of the most exciting concerts of the season,” says Music Director Eckehard Stier. “There is little to match the thrill of hearing the classics of the future.”

Ross Harris: Symphony No.4 (To the Memory of Mahinarangi Tocker) Brahms: Tragic Overture, op81 Brett Dean: The Lost Art of Letter Writing

Start time

April 7, 2011 7:00PM


Auckland Town Hall


Tickets to this concert are also available through the APO,
or from