Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra: 'In hollowed bone I hear the seas roar'

for violin and orchestra

  ·  Duration:  26m
Instrumentation:  2222; 2200; timp., perc.; strings

Duration:  26m
Instrumentation  2222; 2200; timp., perc.; s...

Composer:   Louise Webster


This concerto in three movements was commissioned by St Matthews Chamber Orchestra for performance by the orchestra in October 2016 with Helene Pohl as soloist.

The first movement opens with a rising augmented figure in the solo violin, which returns in ever changing forms throughout the movement. The second movement is fast, driven, and rhythmic, and the final movement a slow moving and somber dance for the soloist and strings with tacet woodwind and brass.