Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

The Broken Heart

for soprano and piano

Year:  2018   ·  Duration:  2m 30s

Year:  2018
Duration:  2m 30s

John Rimmer

Composer:   John Rimmer

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Page 1 of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


In response to Joy Cowley being awarded the Order of New Zealand in 2018, I composed this setting of her beautiful poem 'The Broken Heart'. Angela Wratt and Jonathan Berkahn gave the first performance at the Summer Choral Music School at Teapot Valley, Brightwater, Nelson.

Commissioned note

Text by Joy Cowley